16. PEACE, JUSTICE AND STRONG INSTITUTIONS

Team – THE CITY – THE CITY

Team – THE CITY  THE CITY


THE CITY Team

THE CITY’s staff is united by a common mission: reporting hard-hitting stories that serve the people of New York.

We’ve assembled a team whose members bring a rich mix of work and life experiences, as well as hail from a variety of backgrounds. To learn more, see our most recent diversity report.

Vania André

Vania is THE CITY’s communication and marketing director, where she works with the entire team to promote THE CITY and its work while expanding its growing reach and reputation as the go-to local news source for New York. Previous positions include publisher and editor in chief of The Haitian Times, communications director for former-Council Member Jumaane D. Williams, and communications manager for Pubilc Agenda, a nonpartisan research institute.
vandre@thecity.nyc

Claudia Irizarry Aponte

Claudia covers Brooklyn for THE CITY. Her reporting has appeared in The Philadelphia Inquirer and NPR’s Latino USA. A 2018 graduate of the Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY, she’s a recipient of the Sidney Hillman Foundation Award for Social Justice Reporting.
cirizarry@thecity.nyc
@clauirizarry

Reuven Blau

Reuven is a reporter for THE CITY. He previously worked at the Daily News, NY Post and The Chief-Leader.
rblau@thecity.nyc
@ReuvenBlau

Ann Choi

Ann is THE CITY’s senior data reporter. She previously worked as a data and investigative reporter for Newsday and the South Florida Sun-Sentinel. Her work earned a George Polk award and a Peabody nomination. She graduated from the University of Texas at Austin after emigrating from South Korea.
achoi@thecity.nyc
@annjychoi

Christine Chung

Christine covers Queens for THE CITY. She was previously a local government reporter at Newsday and a 2015 graduate of Columbia Journalism School.
cchung@thecity.nyc
@chrisychung

Ben Fractenberg

Ben is a visual producer for THE CITY. He previously worked at the Forward as a national political reporter and DNAinfo as a New York City-based reporter/photographer. He is a proud alumnus of the Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY.
bfractenberg@thecity.nyc
@fractenberg

Hasani Gittens

Hasani is a deputy editor for THE CITY. His priors include senior news editor for NBCNews.com and managing editor for NBCNewYork.com. He began his career as a copy kid at the New York Post and is a proud product of Baruch College’s newspaper, The Ticker.
hgittens@thecity.nyc
@hgitty

Rosa Goldensohn

Rosa is a reporter for THE CITY. She was previously a reporter for Politico New York, Crain’s New York Business and DNAinfo, and also checked facts at The New York Times.
rgoldensohn@thecity.nyc
@rosagoldensohn
646-397-1795

Yoav Gonen

Yoav is the City Hall reporter for THE CITY. Previously, he covered City Hall and education for the New York Post, after stints at the Staten Island Advance, NY Daily News and the Brooklyn Papers. Learned the ropes from Professor Blood.
ygonen@thecity.nyc
@yoavgonen

Eileen Grench

Eileen covers juvenile justice for THE CITY and is Report for America corps member. She was previously an investigative reporter for the Global Migration Project, where her work was featured in The Intercept, The Nation, and Documented. A graduate of Columbia Journalism School, Eileen was also a 2016 Olympian.
egrench@thecity.nyc

John Halpin

John leads THE CITY’s development effort as Associate Director – Development. John brings more than eight years of experience growing the development activities of Columbia University’s Earth Institute and Mailman School of Public Health, and Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS. He is a graduate of the Masters of Public Administration program at Columbia’s School of International and Public Affairs.
jhalpin@thecity.nyc
917-536-3388

Jere Hester

Jere is THE CITY’s founding editor in chief. Previous: founding director of award-winning NYCity News Service of Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY; New York Daily News city editor; editor of Downtown Express. Freelance: New York Times, New York magazine, NBC News, others. Author of “Raising a Beatle Baby.”
jere@thecity.nyc
@jere_hester

Alyssa Katz

Alyssa is a deputy editor with THE CITY and a former member of the NY Daily News editorial board. Previously, Katz was editor of The New York World and City Limits. She is the author of “The Influence Machine: The U.S. Chamber of Commerce and the Corporate Capture of American Life” and “Our Lot: How Real Estate Came to Own Us.”
akatz@thecity.nyc
@alykatzz

Jose Martinez

Jose is THE CITY’s transportation reporter. He previously worked on-air for six years at NY1 News, where he also hosted the weekly “In Transit.” He is a veteran of the city’s tabloids, covering courts at the Daily News and the New York Post. He began at the Journal News in Westchester County.
jmartinez@thecity.nyc
@jmartineznyc

Clifford Michel

Clifford covers Staten Island and southern Brooklyn for THE CITY. He previously covered politics for the Staten Island Advance. His reporting has appeared in Gothamist, the Amsterdam News, Politico New York and Gotham Gazette.
cmichel@thecity.nyc
@cliff_michel
347-267-0448

Ese Olumhense

Ese is a reporter covering the Bronx for THE CITY. Ese was previously a reporter at the Chicago Tribune and at The Investigative Fund. Originally from the Bronx, she is a graduate of Columbia Journalism School.
eolumhense@thecity.nyc
@essayolumhense
646-504-2673

Laura Osorio

Laura is THE CITY’s Business Manager. Prior, she was the office manager at the Research Alliance for NYC Schools at NYU. She is a proud CUNY Queens College graduate.
losorio@thecity.nyc
@osoriolaurac

Terry Parris Jr.

Terry Parris Jr. is Engagement Director for THE CITY. Prior to THE CITY, he was a deputy editor at ProPublica. He’s won multiple awards for this work. He was also part of the team that was a finalist for the 2017 Pulitzer Prize in explanatory reporting for the work they did on ProPublica’s Machine Bias project. He teaches at the Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY.
tparris@thecity.nyc

Gabriel Sandoval

Gabriel is a reporter THE CITY. He previously was a researcher at ProPublica, and an intern at WNYC, ChicoSol, Chico News & Review and The Chronicle of Higher Education. He studied business reporting at the Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY.
gsandoval@thecity.nyc
@gluissandoval

Greg B. Smith

Greg is a reporter at THE CITY. He was a reporter at the New York Daily News from 1993 through 2018. His beats have included federal court, City Hall and public housing. He also is the author of several books, including “Made Men: The True Story of the Rise and Fall of a New Jersey Crime Family.”
gsmith@thecity.nyc
@gregbsmithnyc
917-685-5580

Rachel Holliday Smith

Rachel covers Manhattan for THE CITY. She is proud to have previously worked for WNYC, DNAinfo and NY1 News. Her writing has appeared in The New York Times, Curbed New York, Gotham Gazette and others.
rsmith@thecity.nyc
@rachelholliday

Josefa Velasquez

Josefa is the state Capitol reporter for THE CITY. She’s previously worked at The Associated Press, Politico New York and the New York Law Journal covering the governor and Legislature. Most recently she worked as a money-in-politics reporter for the startup Sludge.
jvelasquez@thecity.nyc
@J__Velasquez
516-509-1641

Will Welch

Will is an interactives/graphics producer for THE CITY. He was previously a news applications developer at Newsday and graduated from Stony Brook University School of Journalism.
wwelch@thecity.nyc
@willcwelch

John Wotowicz

John is THE CITY’s publisher, overseeing all revenue, technology, business and operational activities. Previously, John was Managing Director and member of the European Investment Banking Operating Committee of Morgan Stanley and Vice President and member of the Global Management Committee of Dimensional Fund Advisors. John was a Board Member of NPR, Inc. and served as Vice Chair, Finance Committee Chair and Co-Chair of the CEO Search Committee. John was also a founding Board Member of the Texas Tribune. John is a graduate of Duke University (A.B.) and Columbia University School of Law (J.D.).
john@thecity.nyc

Contributors

Virginia Breen

Virginia Breen grew up in Bay Ridge and is a former staff writer at the NY Daily News and Westchester’s Reporter Dispatch. Her work has appeared in New York Newsday, NBCNewYork.com, The Standard of Nairobi and elsewhere. She is an associate professor of journalism at Purchase College, SUNY.
vbreen@thecity.nyc
(914) 523-3739

Trone Dowd

Trone Dowd was born, raised and educated in the great borough of Queens. He graduated from CUNY York College and Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY. His work has been featured in Gothamist, Crain’s New York Business, the New York Daily News and the Queens Tribune, where he served as reporter and editor for three years. He currently works as a general assignment reporter for THE CITY and Vice News.
tdowd@thecity.nyc

Interns

Lauren Costantino

Lauren is an engagement fellow for THE CITY. She previously was an intern covering education at The 74 Million. A recent graduate of the Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY, she’s written for the Mott Haven Herald and the Juvenile Justice Information Exchange. Before journalism, Lauren taught high school English in South Florida.
lcostantino@thecity.nyc
@misscostantino

Allison Dikanovic

Allison Dikanovic is an engagement fellow at THE CITY, where she works on projects like the Open Newsroom that invite more New Yorkers to participate in how THE CITY tells stories and shares information. She is a graduate student at the Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY, pursuing her masters in social journalism. Before moving to New York for school, she was a local reporter in Milwaukee.
adikanovic@thecity.nyc
@Al_dikanovic

Daniel Laplaza

Danny is a community engagement intern for THE CITY. He is currently studying for an M.A. in Social Journalism at the Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY, where he covers accessibility barriers in New York City.
dlaplaza@thecity.nyc
@djlaplaza

Source: thecity.nyc

Leave a Comment